Posts relating to History

Sarah and Mary at Eccleshall Workhouse

Sarah Emery

Eagle House was originally built to be be the Eccleshall Parish Workhouse. Find out about one of it’s younger residents, Sarah Emery

mill meece pumping station, less than ten minutes drive form Eccleshall

Mill Meece Pumping Station

Nestled in the Staffordshire countryside, the Mill Meece Pumping Station stands as a remarkable reminder of the region’s industrial heritage. This magnificent Victorian-era pumping was constructed between 1883 and 1884 to supply clean water to the thriving pottery industry of Stoke-on-Trent.

Advert in the Staffordshire Advertiser on 09 September 1837 for a girls boarding school in Eccleshall

Sarah Tunnicliff Boarding School For young Ladies

In around 1856, Eagle House was purchased by Sarah Tunnicliff (née Gibbs).  Following the purchase, Sarah moved her boarding school for young ladies from the High Street into Eagle House where it remained in operation until at least 1894.

Scroll to Top